Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hershigrl

Dr. John Dickman

hershigrl
19 years ago

Anyone know how big this guy gets or how floriferous it is? I want to grow it as a garden rose. I hear it's an exhibition winner so I thought you guys might know about it. :)

Also, who sells the miniflora "Nemesis" shown in the Annual. Is that a yellow reverse? It's a beauty!

- HershiGrl

Comments (15)

• PMVG57
    19 years ago

Just got two Dr. JD myself so I have no first hand growth knowledge, but in other AZ gardens I've seen mature plants in, it was reaching 3ft in height, with good bloom set.

'Nemesis' is a Robbie Tucker creation that I don't think will be coming out until late 2005 from Rosemania.....

• phil_schorr
    19 years ago

I've heard some reports that it doesn't bloom all that much, but I haven't grown it myself so I can't say for sure.

• suzanne_ladyred
    19 years ago

Dr. John Dickman gets pretty big as a plant, has excellent form on the blooms, but is a pretty stingy bloomer. I wouldn't recommend it for a garden rose.

Nemesis will be released by Rosemania, I believe, sometime in 2005. That's all I know about that one.

• steve_gw
    19 years ago

I've budded Dr. John Dickman to multiflora, and my plants looked like HT's by fall except the blooms were Mini-Flora
    sized. I thought they bloomed pretty well, throwing some nice sprays also. I've had it in the court several times already, a really nice rose!

• Paribear
    18 years ago

This is an excellent miniflora but I agree with Suzanne a little stingy with blooms. But the blooms you do get are worth it. I posted a picture of this miniflora on the rose gallery.

• cleanleaf
    18 years ago

I have one of these plants; Just got it this winter. Nice foilage, we shall see how the blooms come out.

• blsmith
    18 years ago

Hi HershiGirl :~),

Regarding Mini-Flora, Dr. John Dickman, we won Mini Queen with it last weekend in San Diego and Princess last Fall at Armstrong.