Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
davemidohio

Hello and Happy Valentine's Day

davemidohio
13 years ago

Hi everyone. I don't think I have posted here before. I have been hanging out in the Hosta and Hummingbird forums for about 8 years, but I visit here often to admire everyone's roses.

Organizing my computer and found some pics I thought were worthy to share, so here goes:

{{gwi:1208179}}

{{gwi:1208181}}

{{gwi:1208183}}

{{gwi:1208185}}

Now if only hummingbirds fed on roses!

{{gwi:1208187}}

Here is a link that might be useful: Album front page

Comments (13)

• organicgardendreams
    13 years ago

Welcome to this forum, Dave!

Great pictures of well grown, beautiful roses! Would you like to tell us what the varieties are? My guess, rose number 3 from the top is Moonstone, is that right?

Love the photo of the humming bird!

Thanks for posting, and please come back!

Christina

Here is a link that might be useful: Organic Garden Dreams

• mark_roeder 4B NE Iowa
    13 years ago

Dave, what are the flying insects that look a bit like hummingbirds and come out at dusk? I have had them in my rose garden occasionally.

I love your hummingbird picture even better than the rose pictures.

• inga007
    13 years ago

Love your fotos, the hummer is lovely.

• bethnorcal9
    13 years ago

Happy Valentines Day to you! Nice roses Dave. Do you know what the varieties' names are?

Mark, those are called Sphinx moths. It's been awhile since I've seen any around here, but they sure are cool to see them flitting around the flower beds.

Here is a link that might be useful: Sphinx Moths

• davemidohio
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the kind compliments!

Top to bottom the varieties are:
    Crystalline
    Touch Of Class
    Moonstone (I had this one wrong - thanks Christina for helping me get that one straightened out)
    Gold Medal
    Ruby-throated :-)

The thumbnails are clickable links to Webshots. There are a few more roses in that album

Gemini