Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenfanatic2003

What do you plant with your minis?

gardenfanatic2003
18 years ago

I'm going to buy some miniature roses this spring (I've picked out 9 so far :-)), but I'm not sure what they look good planted with. I'm good at helping plants thrive, but I'm not good at the designing a garden to look good part. I've had to redo all my gardens because I didn't like the way they looked once they got going.

I've got a large area to work with. Should I group the minis together, or should I intersperse them among other plants? I'm making sure to stick with pastel colors (pinks, blues, lavenders, whites). So far I've chosen delphiniums, daisies, lilies, daylilies, garden phlox, campanula, dianthus, baby's breath & scabiosa. Do these sound like they'll work together, or will it just look like a jumbled up mess?

Thanks for your help,

Deanna

Comments (6)

• tjsangel
    18 years ago

Hi Deanna,

Really everyone has different opinions on garden designs, here's my take on it.

I have larger roses in the back w/minis planted in front. I also have perennials mixed in and annuals in the summer. I think you have a nice mix of perennials there. All except for Baby's Breath. It's pretty, but it's hard to grow and it likes very dry soil. At least that was my experience. I had slug issues w/delphiniums. I tend to stick w/4 or 5 different perennials mixed in so it doesnt look so jumbled and it gives it a theme. Just be sure to place the larger plants in the back. If you want it to look more formal you could plant all the minis in a row or circle. Whatever you choose I think you will have a beautiful garden. Have fun! : )

Jen

• dan_keil_cr Keil
    18 years ago