Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flower_girl_10a

best minis for San Diego

flower_girl_10a
19 years ago

Hi all,

I am planning to buy a mini from a nearby nursery but I do not know what to buy. I am completely new to roses. I plan to keep the mini on my south facing patio in a pot.

Which of the miniatures in the list below do you all think is suitable for Inland San Diego weather?

Except for the three varieties listed as bareroots, all others are available in 5 gallon pots. I would like to get Hot tamale or Rainbow's end but I am not sure if I will be able to plant them properly in pots with the right soil mixture. Also, I need something that is tough and disease resistant.

Any advice is very much appreciated! Many thanks in advance!

They have 31 varieties to choose from:

Hot Tamale (Bareroot)

Rainbow's end (bareroot)

Cal Poly

Cupcake

Neon cowboy

Ruby ruby (Bareroot)

Sun Sprinkles

Black Jade

Baby Paradise

Demitasse

Denver's dream

Fiesty

Funny girl

Gingerbread man

Gizmo

Heartbreaker

Lemon Drop

Little Paradise

Winsome

Jeanne Lajoie

Kiss and Tell

Minnie Pearl

Mandarin Sunblaze

raspberry Sunblaze

Rise 'n shine

Santa Claus

Wild Plum

Space Odyssey

Texas

Comments (10)

• msm84
    19 years ago

Texas, Rainbows End, Heartbreaker, Cupcake, Gizmo and the Sunblaze roses are by far the heartiest roses on your list for Inland San Diego County. A south facing exposer can get very hot during the summer depending on where you are located. I live up against the foothills north/east of El Cajon and potted roses do not do that well without some afternoon shade. Just a drop down shade (the roll up kind) will do the trick. If you provide your pots with some protection from the direct hot summer sun and lots of water (daily durning the summer) I think any of the roses on your list will do fine.