Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosie_grower

long staying minis

rosie_grower
17 years ago

Help!! I have been growing miniature roses for the past 4-5 years. I have tried many bushes and am still trying to find some varieties that open slowly , but with a beautiful form. Most of mine are beautiful at the bud stage, but as they are blooming they become very pointed at the ends of the petals. I like the petals that stay more like a hybid tea with the edges remaining rounded. The only rose that I have that does that is Vista. I absolutely love that form. I have some other pretty bushes, but they open differently. Hot Tamale opens poitedly, Lavender Crystal opens lovely, but more like an English rose. Sunsprinkles also open a little less to my liking. I had a lovely rose called Santa Claus a few years back, but it was so prone to mildew that I got rid of it. I'm anxious to get some new ones, but I need some help getting some that look like my Vista. I just love cutting it and seeing it in a little vase. It is my kind of style. Any suggestions, anyone?? Thanks!

Comments (11)

• floridaarkansan
    17 years ago

There is a Whit Wells rose called "Memphis King" that holds forever. It is a deep red and has great form. The blooms hold on the bush and as a cut flower. I am not sure if Rosemania has it. CoolRoses.com may have it or know where to get it.

• hanford_rose
    17 years ago

Check with the folks in the Exhibitor's Forum. They grow minis with the intention of showing them at perfect show form. That usually requires a rose with enough petals to hold its shape attractively for several days and even a week or more.

Some of your best minis for the garden are also great show roses. Exhibitors need lots of blooms too.