Return to the Miniature Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Clearance Mini.. Needs Work?

Posted by alaskanamazon Seattle, WA (My Page) on
Sat, Feb 25, 06 at 18:13

My boyfriend bought me this little rose last night. It was on clearance for $1.
I've never grown a rose before (though I've been gardening for 10+ years) so I want to be sure I don't kill it.
Does it need pruned back? Repotted? It's in a 4" pot now and somewhat rootbound.
Image hosting by Photobucket
Image hosting by Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Clearance Mini.. Needs Work?

Nice buy there.

What you need to do is plant it in your garden asap or it has little chance of survival. You can plant as long as the ground there isnt frozen. They make poor houseplants, needing very full sunlight, humidity, moist soil & they get spider mites very easily. Give it a shower once a week. You dont need to prune it til next year if you're planting outside. Even then just a light trimming is fine for minis. Make sure the middle is not crowded to prevent disease. You may need to spray with fungicide in cases of mildew, blackspot etc. Minis are quite hardy. Keep well watered. Good luck with your new plant!

Jen

o

Hi. The thread at the link below contains links to three other threads that discuss these minis. Jen's right, you need to get it outside ASAP, they are really not well suited for growing inside. Hope these help!

Here is a link that might be useful: Help! My indoor mini roses keep dying!

o

Thanks for the advice but I live in an apartment and don't have a garden.
As far as humidity goes I grow almost nothing but high humidity plants (Drosera, Pinguicula, Nepenthes, etc) and have never had a problem with humidity levels. All my other plants are also strictly full sun plants and I live in a south facing apartment.
So theres no way it will survive long enough to go out on the balcony in spring?

o