Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
apple_2007

Please advise me! New to gardening!

apple_2007
16 years ago

I am very impressed with this exchange of ideas and advises on this forum. I am completely new to gardening, but I am very eager to grow miniature roses in pot in my balcony. I have a big south facing balcony, bright light, but no direct sunlight. As you all know, being Chicago, there would definitely be experience droughts and severe snow later in winter. Can I go for my choice, because I am worried about no direct sunlight! Also I am eager to know what varieties can I go for? Are these miniatures perinnials , blooming many times a year? Whre can I buy them? Please folks give me any suggestions with all your experience. Thanks with all appreciation.

Comments (9)

• lesdvs9
    16 years ago

Someone in your zone needs to help you out with some ideas, you'd be zone 5. Minis have a dormant period where the plant looses it's leaves in the winter but will awake in the spring with new leaves and buds and bloom again. There are roses that bloom repeatedly and some that bloom once and some that bloom just a couple of times, it depends on the rose you choose. I don't believe you find any rose that will grow well without any sunlight at all, I'm sorry. You could try and experiment on a couple. Without spending a lot of money, you might pick one from the grocery store, I'm not sure how well it would grow outside at this time of year because I don't know your weather conditions. This is why I can't advise you what to grow. Hopefully someone else will see your thread and help you out.
    Leslie

• ladybutterfly
    16 years ago

Apple, I also live in Chicago. If you are growing minis in pot I do know you will have to bring them in when winter comes. You might be able to put them in a garage for the winter but someone with more experience then me will have to let you know if that will work.