Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
neetapetite

Help! Can my miniature roses be saved?

neetapetite
10 years ago

Hi everyone!

I received my order of 2 bareroot Coffee Bean Miniature Roses from Gurney's around a month ago. It was terribly cold in NYC last month so I followed their suggested instructions as to how to I should keep the roses until they could be planted.

This is the link: http://www.gurneys.com/product/coffee_bean_miniature_rose

I put each of them in 24" window box planters with 6" height 1-2weeks ago since the weather was warming up. I noticed they had brown spots and some stems were blackened so I am now worried! I did check them upon arrival and they looked like that as well. They do have one shoot growing on each of them however.

I'm relatively new to gardening so any tips and pointers would be well appreciated!

Comments (8)

• neetapetite
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Close up

• neetapetite
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Another

• bobbyb123
    10 years ago

yes it is still alive, roses are pretty tough. here's a few pointers
    Make sure that window box planter has a good amount of drainage holes on the bottom.
    Don't let the soil dry out, water when the top of the soil feels almost dry then give the plant a good deep in watering
    Give it as much sun as possible and just let it wake up. when it begins to have a couple of sets of leaves emerge you can give the plant halve doses of fertilizer. but mainly don't stress to much, there seems to be some green stem left and the worst of winter is passed. give the plant plenty for sun don't let the pot dry out and six weeks from now the plant will be growing like a weed. Also, after it wakes up whatever looks dead you can prune off.

• seil zone 6b MI
    10 years ago

I'm not sure a 6 inch deep pot will be big enough for any length of time but you can start them out in that. As they get larger you may need to go up in pot size.