Return to the Miniature Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need advice on moving roses

Posted by Vonniegirl 6 (My Page) on
Fri, Apr 22, 05 at 22:30

HI I'm a novice mini rose grower.I recieved a collection of minis from my Mom last year(from SpringHill nursery),and they thrived planted, in soil, not pots in a newly created rock garden. They are comming back like gang busters (survived better than my "big" girls this very cold winter) I have just bought a new house and need advice on how to move them without killing them!!! Also is it "normal" for some varities to be mini climbers????? I have 2 that are reaching for the sky and bloom, bloom, bloom. Thanks for any info Vonniegirl

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need advice on moving roses

Yes there are mini climbers. There are also minis that grow to three or four feet as bushes. Its only the bloom size that makes them minis. You can always put a

Ideally, you dig up as much rootball as possible, wrap in wet burlap or wet newspapers and plastic, and take directly to the new site where you have holes waiting for them. If you can't do that, pot them up in the appropriate sized pots until you can plant them at the new house. You want as much of the rootball as possible and some good potting mix, if you have to pot them. If you are going to pot them (most likely scenario, I'm guessing), I would do it sooner rather than later so you can baby them and make sure they are stable in their new pot homes before you're in the thick of the moving process and harried and without time to notice if they are suffering (can you tell I hate moving?).

Good luck!
Suz

o
RE: Need advice on moving roses