Return to the Miniature Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I need a climbing mini suggestion

Posted by goatster 7bGa (My Page) on
Fri, May 6, 05 at 7:41

I am new to minis. I bought one on impulse last year at Walley World and this year it is a mass of blooms. I love it. I think I want/need more LOL. I was thinking about a mini rose for my front porch. I have looked at Rainbow's End. Could you all send some pics my way of your climbing mini and tell me how tall it gets, if it is BS and PM resistent and if it does well in the South? Also a great place to buy it online. I actually need 2 one for a trellis which is about 8' and one for my front porch post which is at least 10' Thanks for any photos you can provide. Sharon in Georgia

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I need a climbing mini suggestion

Here is climbing Candy Cane (pink on brass trells, next to white tree rose), which I love. I can't speak to disease. We usually have hot dry weather so no blackspot to speak of, except for rainy springs. See the link for a closeup.
Kathy

Here is a link that might be useful: Happy little faces

o

WOW that is beautiful. CAndy Cane is a mini? I would have never guessed. What is the thorns like on it. It would do great on my trellis. I need something that I can sort of "wrap" around my porch post. Are the canes flexible? I LOVE it.

o

• Posted by BecR zone 9 CA 19 (My Page) on
    Sat, May 7, 05 at 2:32

Beautiful! I too am looking for a smallish climber for a trellis set in a window box. Does candy cane have a nice scent? What is the pink rose in the planter next to candy cane? Becky

o

This is my climbing Rainbow's End.

This is S.W.A.L.K. (Sealed With A Loving Kiss). It is younger than the Cl. Rainbow's End and is just now really starting to take off. I have tried to get a good picture of this rose but haven't managed it yet.

Dana

o