Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blair1504

walmart parade roses

blair1504
18 years ago

This is the frist year that I bought these types of roses. The tag tells me nonething about them. Once they bloom should you cut them? Or leave them alone?

Comments (10)

• Portiemom
    18 years ago

I've had no experience with these, but I should think that any rose will look better and be healthier if you remove the spent blooms.
    Remember to cut just above a cluster of 5 leaves.

• Yoder
    18 years ago

I recently bought a few of these roses also, but I don't know how hardy they are. I live in southern New York and I need to know if these roses will stand up to NY winters.

Can I leave them in pots on the patio over the winter? If so, should I cover them? Cut them back, and if so, when?

If I need to bring them inside for the winter, do they need a dormant period?

All suggestions welcome. Thanks!

• taupe79
    18 years ago

While this is the miniature roses forum, it may be better to post this on the normal roses forum in order to get more (and quicker) responses. It's worth a try!

P.S. I've been eyeing these at WMart too, but the lack of info on the tag has kept me from buying. I hope you find something out! :)

• msjam2
    18 years ago

I bought 6 WM Parade roses about three weeks ago, I somehow managed to keep them alive especially since I live in an extremely hot and humid state.
    The first week, I watered them everyday and kept them in the shade, they lost a lot of leaves but I was told that it's normal. Now, they are doing great, I have all of them in 8 inch clay pot, three of them gets 8 hrs. of full sun and the other three gets about 5 hrs of full sun, they are all doing good. I water 3 times a week now by way of soaking them.
    When I bought the roses, they were in full bloom, once they finished, I cut all the spent blooms. I notice more buds coming out though, I can't wait to see them. I am just happy I managed not to kill them this time!

msjam