Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buford_gw

Supermarket Minis?

buford
9 years ago

I'm just getting into minis. I have ordered a few, but I was just in the supermarket and saw some nice ones. Are these registered roses or no-names? I would like to show minis and use them in arrangements. Is there a way to tell what rose they are?

Comments (10)

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    9 years ago

They are usually unregistered, many are from Poulsen Roses (Google "Poulsen Roser"). Can't be shown without the exhibition name, unfortunately. Many make good bedding plants, though.

• Seeingreen
    9 years ago

I just wanted to share this article with youI enjoy her posts

http://www.plantersplace.com/community/blog/everything-roses/throw-away-roses

• buford
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Maybe I will buy some to 'experiment' on.

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    9 years ago

There are some nice colors, one striped, and one nice russet (if you can find it).

I hate when they are called "throw away", I know that's kinda what the industry wants, but still...

• Seeingreen
    9 years ago

It is part of they reason they are not labeled. Most people who purchases them don't care about the variety they buy and only keep them for a little while because the plants quickly begin to die if not transplanted and cared for outside. I have a number of these minis myself and they really do thrive if they are treated like a rose and not a house plant. The reason the article is labeled throw away roses, is sadly how most customers view them Marci confronts this idea.

This post was edited by seeingreen on Fri, Jun 6, 14 at 12:35

• seil zone 6b MI
    9 years ago