Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msjam2

Best time to order miniature roses?

msjam2
18 years ago

Hi everyone,

I want to order some miniature roses but I am worried about the heat, I live in Melbourne, Fl zone 9B. I have very little experience with roses. Is it okay to order miniatures now or is it too late? How do I handle them with care once they arrive?

Would you recommend buying from John's miniature or Bridges?

Thanks a lot

msjam2

Comments (14)

• msjam2
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Also, please recommend some good disease resistant climbing miniatures, I have my eye on Work of Art or Jeane Lajoie, will they do okay in my zone?

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    18 years ago

Jeanne Lajoie is not disease resistant by any means. I haven't ordered from John's, but I order from Bridges all of the time, and their product is excellent, as is Nor'East. As for the time of year, I'll leave that with others. Most vendors include care instructions with the packing materials.

• Ahri
    18 years ago

After a particularly hard time dealing with John's Miniatures, I'd suggest shopping elsewhere for your minis. Sad to say, but I was not at all pleased with their customer service and constant delays... without telling me about them and leaving me to wonder why the roses didn't come yet again, despite their saying they would for sure send them THIS time. In fact, I'm STILL waiting on one of the roses even after the supposed shipping date. Who knows when it will arrive! Hopefully this time they'll let me know.

I do know that shipping to a hot climate right now might be iffy, so you might want to check the information on the website or call the nursery and ask them if they will ship. I suppose at the very least you can put in your order for shipping in the fall. Good luck!

• msjam2
    Original Author
    18 years ago