Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jennyk85

survive winter in zone 6a

jennyk85
16 years ago

Hi all!

I'm new to growing anything! My husband and I have been attempting to learn to grow plants without killing them and our most recent adventure has been a mini-rose we bought at a supermarket. Which of course means we don't know what exact strain (is that the right word?) it is.

From everything I've read, trying to keep a potted mini-rose alive indoors is more of a challenge than we can tackle. Especially since we aren't about to purchase grow-lights and the climate here in Kelowna means that the sun goes behind the clouds in October and doesn't resurface again until March!

Can a potted mini-rose survive a winter in zone 6a? If the forecast is for the temp to dip into the -20's C (-4 to -15 F), should we bring it inside temporarily, or is that too drastic a temp change?

I plan to repot once the mini goes dormant and then prune in the spring (if it survives!). Does that sound like a good plan (or a disaster!). Thanks in advance!

Comments (8)

• gilli2007
    16 years ago

I'm in Kamloops and have several minis which are happy outside all winter long. However, they are planted directly into the ground and not in pots.

If you want to leave your mini in a pot then I would sink the pot into the ground over the winter to protect the roots. Also mound some soil a few inches over the top. Make sure the snow covers the mound over the winter even if you have to pile a bit on yourself. When the ground starts to thaw out in the spring slowly over a week or so wash the soil off the top of the rose to let the sun and air get to it. Lift the pot from the ground in about April and leave it in a sunny spot. It should do just fine.

• michelle_co
    16 years ago

What Gilli said. It will almost certainly die overwinter if not protected.

Cheers,
    Michelle

• jennyk85
    Original Author
    16 years ago