Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jmac_2008

Andie Mac Dowell & Mother's Love

jmac_2008
15 years ago

Hello,

Has anyone had experience with the mini-floras Andie Mac Dowell & Mother's Love? I have found some basic information regarding type and color but would appreciate any personal observations.

Thanks!

Comments (7)

• roadrunner23
    15 years ago

I have no experience with Andie MacDowell, Mother's Love is new in my garden this year. It has been a major disappointment so far. Plant is growing well but the blooms have been small and dull with very few petals. They lose form and fade too quickly for my taste. Some roses take more time than others to settle in and perform their best, this may be one of them, or maybe it just doesn't like Arizona. I'm going to give it another season.

• jmac_2008
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Hi roadrunner,
    Thanks for your comments. It's very helpful to know what other people have observed. The only info I had to go on was Nor'East Roses' description calling Mother's Love, "An iridescent blending of soft yellow and shades of pink to coral give these blooms a wonderful 'glow'. The plant is fast growing and prolific of blooms, all with perfect show form." The he bloom size is suppose to reach 3". I recently went ahead and bought Mother's Love, but it's still too young and little for to tell much about it. I hope that it turns out well for both of us. I'd be very interested in any updates.

If anyone has experience with Mother's Love or Andie MacDowell, please let me know.
    Thanks!

• dan_keil_cr Keil
    15 years ago

I grow Andie McDowell. It puts out a lot of sprays with 3-4blooms per spray. I have seen 4or5 sprays at once on the plant. The color is an orangeish color. It puts on a good show.

• jmac_2008
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks Dan for helpful input on Andie MacDowell and invasive roots in another chain. I think there are not many Andie MacDowell growers.