Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cayra

I'm new to roses and don't know what to do!

Cayra
18 years ago

I really love roses, but have never grown them before. I was bought 2 'lots' a little while ago, one lot red, n one lot white (a lot being 4 plants in 1 pot) but i don't know what type of roses they are.

I've already lost 4 plants which isnt good, a white mould started covering the leaves and stems not long after they were bought for me, i thought i was over watering, so i stopped watering all the time, even though they had never really been sitting in water, but it didnt help, i cut off the really mouldy parts, so it would stop it spreading, and wiped off some of the leaves which wernt so badly effected, but it re-grew. The 4 remaining plants have lost most of their leaves, but there is new growth. Some of the leaves have yellow in them, while others have red, on the same plant!

I'm not sure what to do, any help would be appreciated!

Just as a extra thing.... if the plants have gone brown n all the leaves have dropped off, it dead, right?

Comments (8)

• tjsangel
    18 years ago

Hi Cayra! Welcome to the forums and the wonderful wacky world of roses. Dont fret, the 1st year is the toughest, and we all have to learn.

About the mold, this sounds like powdery mildew. Like a white dust over the leaves. This can easily be controlled with a good fungicide. Follow the directions on the bottle and it should clear up soon. It's hard to overwater roses, they love water. What zone are you in, and are you growing these outdoors? Roses are not houseplants. About the brown one, cut everything down and see if it regrows. If not it was underwatered and it's dead. Hope this helps, get back to us if you can with more info!

Jen

• Cayra
    Original Author
    18 years ago

How much would a fungicide cost? can you recomend some?
    I don't know what zone i'm in, i live in england...