Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pappu_gw

Hot Tamale or Rainbow's End?

pappu
18 years ago

Having a tough time deciding between the two. I need a compact bush about 2 feet tall and am planning a hege about 18 feet long. Which one is hardier, has better disease resistant and is more floriferous? What would be a good, reasonable priced online source for either of these?

Thank you

Comments (13)

• tjsangel
    18 years ago

Hi there!

I have some experience with Rainbow's End. It's pretty disease resistant and hardy, low growing about to 18 inches. It is bushy. Dont know about Hot Tamale, but I think RE is better looking. HT is too garish for me. I'll have to look into some sources to buy either one.

Jen

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    18 years ago

Nor'East has both.

• Maryl (Okla. Zone 7a)
    18 years ago

I've grown both side by side and Hot Tamale is cold tomatoes in my garden now. Hot Tamale had a problem with blackspot (I spray), Rainbow's End did not. Hot Tamale opened quickly, Rainbow's End went through numerous color changes before finally needing to be deadheaded. Hot Tamale was taller then Rainbow's End, had longer stems and was fragrant with a striking color. In your colder zone it may hold it's bloom better. I'm not in your zone so can't speak to ultimate heights, but my Rainbow's End after many many years is still only about 2 feet high. Hot Tamales height may be a better bet for you, or perhaps you may want to explore other options.

• BeeVee
    18 years ago

I am fanatical about Hot Tamale. it does get BS so I spray it as much as I can. But the colors of that beauty is just breathless. Wish I could post a pic for you! I get a lot more blooms from it than Rainbow's End.

• jpw_chi
    18 years ago

Was very happy with Hot Tamale this summer, probably the top one of the fifteen or so mini's I had. I'm surprised to hear about the BS, because it definitely healthier than some of the others.

Here is a link that might be useful: Scroll down for Hot Tamale