Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mcysgirl

new to miniature roses

mcysgirl
17 years ago

First thing I have to say is that my grandparents have all ways had miniature roses, and I've all ways loved them. They've had little red ones, white, and a red/white mixture. My boyfriend got me two miniature roses, a orange/red and a red.

Now, the orange/red seem to be doing ok, but its drinking a lot of water. And the red one well.. a few of its flowers are starting to wilt. Its been getting plenty of water, I know that. I check it everyday; i pick them up to see how heavy they are. If the soil is still moist I hold off until the next day, but if its light and the soils dry I go ahead and water them. I have them right next to a window, with the window open so as not to fry them. Its fairly warm here, about high 60's low 70's.

I just don't know why the red one is wilting. I think I'm doing every right... but maybe I'm missing some thing. Seeing as i'm new to this could some one give me a few pointers?

thanks all.

Comments (6)

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    17 years ago

You don't tell us where you live (general area, such as SE Pennsylvania), that would really help.

Are they inside or outside? Roses really prefer to be planted outside. They would probably do well to be repotted, and don't let them completely dry out. Spider mites are the other problem with trying to keep roses indoors.

Here are some threads that might help. How to save a potted gift rose
    growing minis inside

• mcysgirl
    Original Author
    17 years ago

oops sorry... lol... I'm in central texas, and yes they are inside. And also they are parade roses.. they seem to have a bad rep for doing inside with out a planting light. hrm, oh well. Outside they'll go!! lol..

• dan_keil_cr Keil
    17 years ago