Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
josie_z6b

Need A Large Pink Mini

josie_z6b
18 years ago

Hi everyone. I'm new to roses in general and I don't have ANY "name" minis yet, only little things I pick up at the grocery store.

For spring I've decided I'm getting Rise 'N' Shine and maybe Orange Honey. (or another orange if one of you has a recommendation for one that's easier for beginners)

What I need is a bombproof, easy, lots-of-flowers, biggish pink mini. "Biggish" means about 2ft x 2ft or 3ft x 3ft but not as big as 'The Fairy' which I love but won't fit in my flowerbed.

Thanks in advance you guys.

Comments (26)

• tjsangel
    18 years ago

Hi Josie,

I'm not sure if it's "bombproof" but Pam Tillis is pretty big for a mini. If you want something bushier you may want to try a floribunda like Sexy Rexy, or Polyantha roses. Margo Koster is a good one, I dont grow these so you may want to look them up. Minis, especially in our cold zone, dont get very big. I dont know what color orange you mean, but Mandarin Sunblaze is beautiful, as is Jean Kenneally-she's apricot though. She is a little bloom machine and is fragrant also. Have fun deciding!

Jen

• diggerdave
    18 years ago

Our largest pink mini is Ultimate Pleasure {{gwi:1211336}} (thumbnail, click to see full photo) UP gets around 3 ft tall and wide for us. She did take a couple years to get established here. Friends in warmer zones say {{gwi:1213999}} becomes a monster quick. UP is a Dee Bennett rose and we got ours from Tiny Petals. TP nursery was bought by Greenheart and Dee's roses are being sold by NorEast. I haven't checked the website in a couple weeks. They are getting Bennett roses available pretty quick :)

• diggerdave
    18 years ago

Nor'East does have UP available now :) I had to go check. I'll link the page below. Just a note... UP is Dee Bennett's daughter's (Sue OBrien [Curry]) alltime favorite rose. Sue has grown a LOT of mini roses :)

Here is a link that might be useful: UP at Nor'East