Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eyeone1999

mini roses in walkway

eyeone1999
19 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am considering planting mini roses along my cement walkway leading to my front door. It is approximately a 30 foot length of walkway having a planting width of about 2 feet wide. Would minis be a good choice for this type of location or would they spread and catch passersby with their thorns? Also, how far apart would I need to plant them to have a nice appearance. And, finally, would mini roses have a constant bloom enough to give me continuous color along the walkway?

Thanks so much for your help. I guess it's obvious I'm new to the gardening hobby. I appreciate your expertise.

Comments (7)

• Megsroses
    19 years ago

I think a welcoming pathway of miniatures is a wonderful idea.
    I plant mine at 12" centers and keep them within bounds by judicious pruning.
    2' wide will be plenty of room for them to develop to their full potential and by either planting all of one kind or a medly of colors, I think you will have a wonderful addition to your plantscape design.
    Meg

• angelcub
    19 years ago

Your pathway lined with minis sounds lovely. I'm new to minis myself, just having bought my first, Sunrise Cupido. I'm thinking of planting more along one of my front beds. Meg's suggestion of a medley of colors sounds great.

I hope you post pics of your new mini rose beds.

Diana

• eyeone1999
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks so much for your response. In your experience, do you find that minis flower enough for a constant show of color, or are there lengths of time between flowering? I'm looking for a lot of color and wonder if I will have to plant annuals or perennials inbetween the roses to keep up a nice show.

• Maryl (Okla. Zone 7a)
    19 years ago