Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
penguu

deep red, non-cluster-flower miniature from garden store (photos)

penguu
17 years ago

I bought this mini from a garden center today, and it wasn't labeled with a name...

I'm going to try to describe this as best as I can...but I'm new to roses in general and minis in particular, so please excuse me if I'm not very technical...

It leafy parts aren't very branchy. From top of soil to top of plant is about 8.5 inches.

The blooms are deep red, almost black in some parts. There're only buds in the one I bought. There was one blooming in the store, and the blossoms were somewhat high-centered, double, and pretty. *grin* No fragrance.

Thorns are semi-rigid and sparsely spaced:

Flowers don't bloom in clusters:

Leaves are sort of matte, medium green, with serrated edges. It doesn't seem to have any disease, thank god, but that could just be due to sprays applied at the store/nursery.

Comments (5)

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Eh, hard to tell until you can get a photo of the bloom. I suspect, though, that it is a rose from the Parade series from Poulsen Roser, search the photos to see if one matches your rose once it blooms.

• hanford_rose
    17 years ago

Hi Penguu.

Let me see, if I can help you a little bit.

"I bought this mini from a garden center today, and it wasn't labeled with a name."

That is probably, because it has no name. 90% of the mini roses sold in garden centers and building supply stores are unnamed, greenhouse orphans, with no accurate parental records. The wholesale producers find it easier to label their minis with 'generic titles', like "Red, White, Pink or Yellow This or That". That would include all of the 'Parade' and 'Minimo' roses. Those are just convenient names to put on a label. Then, any red mini that is produced by the wholesaler can wear the same tag, based on color only.