Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
osromatra

My first blooms, may help identify

osromatra
14 years ago

Here are the blooms of my mystery rose. I have waited for them patiently, or not so patiently, haha.

I have posted a few times before, but nothing is ever really panning out as a good identification. I am agreeing with those of you who suggested it is a kordesii. It seems to fit, with the time frame, it's habit/size, etc. But more than that, I am not sure. I am curious also as to if it is a polyantha/floribunda. I am very new to roses, and gardening all around, so I apologize if I sound dumb. Thanks everyone, so much, for your help.

Anyway, my rose, it was a Mother's Day gift to my great great grandmother sometime between 1960 and 1980, most likely in the 1970s. The house passed hands to non-family, but coincidentally my husband and I bought the house, unaware my great great grandmother had ever lived here. The man we bought the house from said it was here and well-established when he bought the place, but that it never put out much blooms for him but was healthy and grew well regardless. The house was owned before that by a few of my great uncles and I really doubt any of them put any effort into caring for her. Considering I found a couple cigarette butts around in her dirt last week when I was checking the bud union/graft site, I am sure they treated her pretty badly.

The first year we owned the house, my mother-in-law came by and pruned her very aggressively, maybe to 12 inches, b/c it was full on the inside with thin (like half pencil thickness) bloomless branches and obviously had poor circulation. It put out a few blooms then and responded well to the pruning and grew a good foot plus and made very thick, sturdy canes. I did not notice any hips, but I was dead-heading it, so it may not have had the chance.