Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kylara111

Unknown climbing rose?

kylara111
16 years ago

I'm new at planting roses and planted this 2 years ago on a trellis in an attempt to hide wires on the side of my house. Not much happened to it in that time other than a single bloom last year. I had just had a baby and didn't have time to care for it and thought it had died. I had planned to take it out but this spring before I had a chance I was pleasantly surprised that it came back and has lots of foliage and blooms! I don't remember what kind of rose it is. Thank you!

Comments (12)

• kylara111
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Here it is on a trellis ...

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    16 years ago

Yellow climbers, might be Golden Showers, Climbing (Cl.) Goldmarie, Royal Gold, maybe Scent from Above.

A little more info, fragrance, more photos, thorniness.

• kylara111
    Original Author
    16 years ago

diane_nj, Thank you for your help! I looked at your suggestions and didn't think it was any of those.

I wonder if it may be a rose called Keith's Delight.

• diane_nj 6b/7a
    16 years ago

Could be, if you ordered by mail. If you bought it locally, then I don't think so, might depend on where you live. KD is a rugosa hybrid, and I don't see those characteristics on the leaves, but would need a closer look. Photos of KD at helpmefind.com also show a pink tinge to the edges.

• petaloid
    16 years ago

It's got to be a climbing hybrid tea rose. There are too many yellow climbers for me to guess which one, but it's nothing I have grown.

Do you recall where you purchased it? Maybe they would know what varieties they sold that year.

It's very pretty and looks happy. Imagine how it will look when you give it some TLC. Enjoy your mystery rose!

• lesdvs9
    16 years ago

Are even the leaves prickly?

This is Keith's Delight.
    Leslie

• kylara111
    Original Author
    16 years ago