Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
apmom99

Lavender, fragrant, Hybrid Tea

apmom99
18 years ago

Hello all,

I'd like help identifying this rose I have in my front garden. I've tried searching at Helpmefind.com but I can't seem to narrow it down much at all. It is a medium size bloom- about 4.5" across, borne one bloom per stem. The coloring is very similar to Lavender Lace, Sterling Silver, Stainless Steel, etc. a very nice lavender/mauve. There are approx 40 petals on the two blooms I've counted. It seems pretty disease resistant compared to the the others in the front- no powdery mildew or blackspot so far this year. The foliage is medium-to-large, medium green, new growth purplish (not as red as my Betty Boop). This rose has a strong fragrance, but I'm not good at describing different 'flavors' or scents.

Photo here: http://heidi.nybble.net/wp-content/lavendar.jpg

Any ideas?

Image link:

Comments (13)

• johnreb_va7
    18 years ago

At first glance it looks like the hybrid-tea Blue Girl (the version also called TANsi, introduced in 1964 by Tantau.) Intense fragrance, 4-inch blooms, averages 40 petals per bloom. The TANsi Blue Girl rose is a descendant of Sterling Silver.

It is often confused KORgi, another light-lavender HT having the same Blue Girl name and year-of-introduction (but bred by Kordes, and thus its called KORgi). The ARS says the KORgi Blue Girl has dark-green leaves and moderate/mild fragrance. Neither of those two ID-characterisitcs match up with your description of your rose.

Regards,
    JohnReb

• apmom99
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks! I took a peek at Helpmefind, and I agree that if it is a Blue Girl it must be the TANsi, because mine definitely doesn't have multiple blooms like the photos of KORgi. The pics of Sterling Silver look very similar, too!

• johnreb_va7
    18 years ago