Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
turningpoint_gw

oops- here's a larger photo. red climber z 5-who am I?

turningpoint
17 years ago

I'll try again. I'm sorry, I'm just learning to post photos.

Image link:

Comments (15)

• turningpoint
    Original Author
    17 years ago

The rose repeat blooms or blooms through the season. I think as the blooms open all the way, there will be some yellow in the very center- but I had remembered 5-7 petals and there appear to be at least 20. It was 10' when I transplanted it 3 years ago. It seems to be absolutely freeze resistant and it's canes get a bit stiff as it ages. It has thrown up 2 new canes in the last several weeks, one nearly 4 1/2 feet tall already.

• rosyjennifer
    17 years ago

Is it fragrant?

• turningpoint
    Original Author
    17 years ago

I can hardly detect a smell. I looked at Dr. Huey pictures and they seemed to be similar, but this is zone 5- some people even think zone 4. I confess I did post about this rose before, but that was based on my memory. I had settled on Altissimo, but now I have doubts due to the petal #.

• turningpoint
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Could it be Blaze? But the "help me find" site has Blaze as zone 6.

• garden2garden
    17 years ago

Have you compared it to pictures of Don Juan? I don't know about it's zone hardiness, and DJ is fragrant and you said you don't detect any fragrance, but the color is right and it has wide leaves like that.

Here is a link that might be useful: DJ at HMF

• turningpoint
    Original Author
    17 years ago