Return to the Name That Rose Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help me identify my great-grandmother's rose!

Posted by Emsie 8 (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 23, 13 at 17:30

Hi, I recently rooted some cuttings of a beautiful climber from my grandma's house in Washington state. My grandma said she remembers the rose covering the wall of her mother's house when she was a child in the late 1920s and 30s.
I'm new to roses so I really have no idea of where to even start in identifying it. I'd love any help I can get!

It's a repeat bloomer
the leaves are soft underneath but smooth on top.

Grandma says she hardly gave it any TLC in the past 50 years it's been growing so even though it looks bad now it must be fairly hardy!

I've attatched photos - let me know what details I've missed so I can make it easier to identify.

photo IMG_0112.jpg

photo IMG_0108.jpg

photo IMG_0103.jpg

photo IMG_0101.jpg

photo IMG_0100.jpg

photo IMG_0098.jpg

photo IMG_0084.jpg

Here is a small flower - they get about twice as big
 photo IMG_0073.jpg

And this is my own plant that I rooted from cuttings of grandmas! (I'm pretty excited, it was my first time ever doing cuttings)
 photo IMG_0119.jpg

Thanks so much in advance for all your help! I understand that some roses remain unnamed and/or unidentified but it would be fun to find out about this one if possible. Also, I posted a question about how to prune my grandma's plant in the other forum so if you'd like to comment on that go to http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/roses/msg0617235913468.html

Em

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help me identify my great-grandmother's rose!

My best guess is Red Excelsa/Red Dorothy Perkins but there are two problems with this:

1. Those varieties are once-blooming (do they possibly bloom twice?)
2. The bloom shape seems a little different to me. Anyone out there with Red DP agree?

o