Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scraplolly

Need to know about this rose

scraplolly
15 years ago

My husband planted it, 11, 12 years ago. Probably purchased it from a Big Box store. It used to sit in this bed on the south side of the house densely surrounded by weeds. I've cleared them out and the poor thing is lonely and unprotected. I have no idea whether it is a repeat bloomer or not--I've never taken the flowers off. I've not noticed any hips--but then I wouldn't have. It always comes back, no matter what I do to it. I'm new to gardening and I'd like to know how to care for this hardy, remarkably resiliant thing. Can I not upload more than one image?

Here are the flowers and foliage. The old canes are kind of olive to brown coloured, and it seems I have a brand new one, very yellow-green in colour. It's soft, but prickly.

If you need more photos, just ask.

Image link:

Comments (7)

• petaloid
    15 years ago

It would help to have a photo of buds, and/or of blooms that are just starting to open.

• scraplolly
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Oh. Drat. There are no buds or flowers about to open. The whole thing is in bloom. Should I cut off some of the flowers (and where on the stem?) to see if it will re-bloom? If it does, then I'll be able to post a picture.

I also need to know how to care for it so it develops a nicer shape and form. I've read up a little bit--but it seems to be I need to know more about this particular one to make sense of the info.

Here's a photo of the way it looks--very fragile and I'm worried.

• petaloid
    15 years ago

I just wanted to get a look at the base of the flower, where the hips form, to see how the green sepals look. That's why I hoped to see buds. It helps us to see the center of the bloom with the stamens, the stems and thorns too.

If you do trim off some of the blooms when they are spent it may re-bloom in a couple of months.