Return to the Name That Rose Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pretty little mystery apricot rose, maybe Ambridge?

Posted by kutekaos 8a (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 29, 13 at 0:02

So the first place I ever ordered roses from was Burgess. I have learned my lesson, I was a newbie. So they sent me this rose, it was suppose to be an Orange Velvet Climber, it is not. It has grown about a little taller than a foot. It has a wonderful rose smell too. It reminds me of Ambridge rose, but the oetals look a bit too tapered.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Pretty little mystery apricot rose, maybe Ambridge?

Here is another picture.

o

It's not too cupped or flat.

o

Here is a side shot fully open.

o

Here is the whole plant, it was a bareroot in April or May.

o

Here are pics of the buds. I know it bloomed in spring when I got it and now it's blooming again. I'm not sure if it got too hot or it only has two flushes.

o

Here are pics of the buds. I know it bloomed in spring when I got it and now it's blooming again. I'm not sure if it got too hot or it only has two flushes.

o

why not 'just joey', 1st pic shows beautifully frilled petals...

o

I wanted it to be Just Joey so bad, but the second picture it opens up different. JJ is very ruffled and lacey looking, beautiful, the one I have is more like a pom pom lol. I've been on help me find :-)

o

• Posted by seil z6b MI (My Page) on
    Sun, Feb 2, 14 at 14:51

That doesn't look like Just Joey to me at all. JJ has fewer petals and a more classic HT form to the bloom, not that cupped shape.

It does look like Ambridge Rose but there are several Austins in that color that it could be. I'd go to the David Austin site, or order their catalog, and keep comparing it as it matures.

o