Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roch_plantgirl

New to roses - what do I have?

roch_plantgirl
18 years ago

We just bought our first home last year, and I've inherited 7 rose bushes (2 climbers and 5 bush-like). I didn't even know I had roses last fall since they were buried under a huge pine tree. This year, they seemed to do very well with finally seeing sun. They did have a bought with black spot (I'm learning), but they seem to have recovered. The house is about 40 yrs old, so that's the oldest they could be.

I'm hoping you can help me identify 4 of the bush roses so that I can prune them properly this fall. I'm new to gardening, and I'm not sure if I should prune them to the ground, or part way (I have a book, but since I don't know what I have, I still don't know what to do). Attached are 4 images - I hope they're good enough to gather at least enough info for pruning's sake:

Rose Bush #1: Mini red roses, about 3ft high, bloomed all summer long. Dense and bushy, and did not get the black spot the others had. No real fragrance.

Rose Bush #2 (2 images): Large deeper red blooms, about 3ft high. Bloomed earlier in the summer, and again now (we had an early fall heat wave here; I think they're confused)Light fragrance.

Rose Bush #3 : Large red blooms, but this plant is more delicate than the others - only 2 thin canes, and the blossoms were more loose with fewer petals than above. No real fragrance. About 1-2 ft high.

Rose Bush #4: This bush had light pinkish/peach flowers with slightly darker pink around the edges, with a nice fragrance. The blossoms bent over like they were too heavy for the stem. The leaves are waxy and a lighter green. This plant suffered heavily from the black spot, and just started growing it's leaves back. It's currently only about 10" high.

I figure I probably shouldn't prune # 3 and 4 at all since they're smaller and a little stressed; What about 1 and 2?