Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kentstar_gw

Planting new roses organically question

kentstar
15 years ago

Hi all. I am very new to roses. I bought ramblin red and alba maxima roses to plant in April. I want to start them off right. I don't have any way of making compost, though. I live in a mobile home park and I think the neighbors would be upset with my smelly compost bin lol.

I have bought from Planet Natural: greensand, bonemeal, bloodmeal, rose fertilizer, and worm castings.

What is the best (without my own compost:( ) mixture of amendments to add to the hole to give them the best start? I know, have the soil tested! I don't know where to look to find testing, and I'm not sure how well the kits you buy over the counter are. I DO have a pH tester already. Top soil,sand, bonemeal, bloodmeal, fertilizer, wormcastings all together? I don't want to "over" fertilize either. NOTE: In the past fall I spread about a 3 to 4 inch layer of mushroom compost over the bed in which they will be planted.

Thankyou all for your help in this matter. Roses sure cost enough and I want them to survive lol.

kentstar

Comments (3)

• Kimmsr
    15 years ago

Roses grow best in a soil that has been well amended with organic matter that is evenly moist but well drained. Organic matter is compost and other vegetative waste and if you have clay that organic matter will open up the clay so water can flow easier and the plant roots can also move through the soil easier and get the nutrients the plan needs to grow easier. If you have sand that organic matter will fill in the pore spaces between the sand particles so moisture and nutrients can be held in the soil so the plant will have access to that.
    Your local office of your Ohio State University USDA Cooperative Extension Service can help you with a good, reliable soil test and in addition these simple soil tests could be of some help,