Return to the Organic Rose Growing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Preparing the Rose Bed

Posted by natlawn No VA 7 (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 13, 06 at 20:59

I just ordered some "Knock Out" and "Fantasy Ground Cover" roses from Burgess Company.

My soil is clay and PH is 7.5.

This is my first time to try planting roses.

How do I prepare the soil for the above roses? I am planning to add compost and Rose-Tone.

Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Preparing the Rose Bed

• Posted by remy 6WNY (My Page) on
    Wed, Mar 22, 06 at 14:27

Don't add fertilizer with nitrogen to the planting hole. You want to encourage roots at first not growth. Once the plant is established and growing, you can then add the fertilizer. The link below has very good planting advice. I know it is for cold hardy roses but the info is great just the same.

Here is a link that might be useful: U of Minnesota Rose Publication

o

i add sand and soil conditioner ( finely ground pine bark) to my clay along with the compost. it lets more air and water circulate, and helps get the nutrients out of the clay. think of it like making biscuits - start by cutting the sugar (sand) into the shortening (clay) and then you add your flour (compost, soil conditioner, topsoil, old potting soil) for bulk and aeration.

Be careful, though, and maybe do a test patch. I use play sand, and it works pretty well for me, but if you use the wrong sand or too much of it, you will end up making concrete. I generally add about a shovelful of sand to about 3 or 4 of organics, for every couple of feet of double-digging in a clay bed.

o