Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
growing_in_oh

ADR roses/Kordes roses

growing_in_oh
17 years ago

I have never grown roses before and have been reading all I can before I jump in. I think I would like to start with an ADR approved rose (rigorous German testing--no sprays or winter protection for a few years to earn their letters). Does anyone know of a US supplier of Kordes or Meilland roses? I was particularly interested in "Aprikola" by Kordes. I have tried to search, but keep getting all kinds of foreign websites and I have dial-up so it takes forever to find anything.

I also am wondering if any of you have an opinion on the ADR testing. It seems like the most "intensive" trials I've come across, but as I said, I'm new to all this. Since all the trials are in Germany does it mean nothing here? I have no idea what zones Germany encompasses.

I also find myself skeptical of the AARS roses since they seem to stick with hybrid teas which I understand require some chemical help in the best of circumstances. Am I right to ignore their picks if I want to keep as spray-free as possible?

Thank you for your help!

Kristen

Comments (6)

• elks
    17 years ago

The ADR roses are a good bet in a cold zone like yours. They are generally a little hardier than others, and more disease resistent; however, the resistence would appear to be at the expense of fragrance.

Look for dealers who root on R. multiflora, or for hardier fare, R. canina, though you're not likely to find many of the later in N.A. Hortico has one of the largest catalogues of Kordes roses. Pickering also has many. A smaller nursery, Palatine, has recently started mail order, though I'm not sure whether they ship stateside. They produce the best grafted stock I know of, and have become one of Kordes testing nurseries on this side of the Atlantic.

Personally, I have as high a regard for Meilland roses, maybe higher.

Steve.

• growing_in_oh
    Original Author
    17 years ago