Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tnsw

black spots after spray

Tnsw
10 years ago

Hi, I'm very new to growing roses and still learning a great deal. I have some rose bushes and now two roses trees all in pots. I sprayed them all yesterday morning with a combination of water, baking soda, and a tiny bit of soap. I originally sprayed my rose bushes after finding black spots. Yesterday I also sprayed my rose trees as one of them had aphids. This morning I found that both of my rose trees have little black spots on the under side of the leaves, only where I sprayed. Obviously I hurt them doing this, but not sure why? ? ? The rose bushes did just fine on multiple occasions with such treatment. Any thoughts?

Comments (5)

• greentiger87
    10 years ago

1st, baking soda sprays are essentially ineffective against black spot (the disease). They can be effective against powdery mildew and other fungal diseases, just not black spot.

High temperature and high humidity are two variables that can greatly increase phytotoxicity (damage to plants). The general rule for sprays of any kind is to avoid application when the temperature is above 85.

Leaf temperature is the real issue, meaning sunny days are worse than cloudy days. Leaf temperature can be up to 15 degrees higher than air temperature during an average sunny summer day.

High humidity causes two problems. First, it slows the evaporation of active chemicals, meaning the stick around longer and have more opportunity to cause damage. This is probably not an issue with baking soda and soap, since neither evaporate appreciably. High humidity also decreases the ability of a plant to lower leaf temperature through evaporative cooling, which increases phototoxicity.

Never spray when your plants are under moisture stress, as this is guaranteed to result in damage.

• rebeccah_2009
    10 years ago

Does anyone in Tennessee or close areas have major blackspot problems other than me?

• mimosamonster
    10 years ago