Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
frdnicholas

Rpses and garlic

frdnicholas
17 years ago

I am new to growing roses, this being my second season. I had heard that growing garlic in the rose bed would help keep the aphids away. My garlic has doubled from last season. Is there any chance it will interfere with the roses as it spreads? Do I need to thin the garlic at some point?(other than when we want some fresh garlic!) The roses are in concrete blocks with the garlic. Thanks for any help.

Comments (11)

• Kimmsr
    17 years ago

The best way to control aphids is to plant the roses in a good, healthy soil one well amended with compost and other organic matter so the rose grows strong and healthy. Aphids are attracted to lush new growth, like that produced when roses are fed synthetic plant foods. Slow that down and aphids won't be much of a problem and can easily be controlled, if necessary, by sharp streams of water that knock the buggers off the plants. Aphids are a symptom of a problem, not the real problem.

• frdnicholas
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Kimm, Thank you for that help. I will continue to add compost to the roses as I make it. I thought that putting water on the leaves of roses would spread a fungus-like looking condition with black spots on the leaves? Maybe that problem will also be addressed as I improve the soil? Thanks, again.

• girlndocs
    17 years ago

I had garlic in my rose beds for several years; I finally removed it because it looked "in the way" to me.

It does spread pretty quickly if you don't harvest it regularly. I still have a strip of it between the edge of one rose bed and my vegetable patch, which I started 3 years ago by planting single cloves every foot or so; it's now a dense 10-12" wide, and every spring I take my shovel and chop away half that width.