Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
etain_gw

Ok to use bananas and coffee on newly planted roses?

etain
16 years ago

This will be my first year of real rose growing, so I'm still learning. I just put 10 rose bushes in the ground on Wednesday. A combination of Austins and Hybrid Teas (which I realize will need a lot of extra TLC in my climate). I ammended my sandy soil with a little bit of peat moss and cow manure. The plants seem healthy, obviously they haven't had time to do anything yet. I was just wondering if it's too soon to start adding banana peels and coffee grounds to the soil for some extra food?

I made my significant other start saving them earlier this week. He thinks I'm nuts, but I heard they make great rose food and I love the idea of recycling.

Any other tips for a newbie would be greatly appreciated. I don't know anything about organic gardening, but I'm eager to learn.

Comments (10)

• petalz
    16 years ago

I just planted 26 HT, FL, CL two months ago and have been using a combination of coffee grounds 1cup, blended up whole bananas 1cup in 1gal h2o, chicken manure 3/4cup, bioflora dry crumbles 1/2 cup, alfalfa pellets 1cup, all scratched into the top dirt and mulched with 3" composted horse manure. Do this once every month and supplement with fish emulsion in between.
    Very time consuming but some of my FLs have almost twenty flowers now!

look up alfalfa pellets on this site and you will see how great they are on roses.

• michelle_co
    16 years ago

I mix alfalfa pellets (small ones) and coffee grinds into the back fill soil as part of my organic soil amendments. Am going to have to start remembering to throw a banana peel in the bottom of the hole, too. I bet the worms and roses love that!

Cheers,
    Michelle

• gilli2007
    16 years ago