Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gosar_gw

Rose diesease ?? fungus problem ??

gosar
20 years ago

I am a newbie in delaing with roses except for the fact that i cut them in the fall to 1 feet height...a.nd then applied the Rose n feed in March 1st week of this year. I am in the Bay Area , CA. My questions are :

For some reason, there is white fungus (i think) which is developing on the leaves of the roses as well as at the bottom of the petals. Ii is not allowing the rosees to grow...What is this disease ?? How to take care of this ?? Any pesticide, etc ?? An Organic remedy will be super. I have like 5 rose plants in the front-year. How do i avoid it spreading ?? How do i avoid it completely ?

What do you use for Fertilizer for Roses. Apart from Corn Meal...what other organic fertilizer are there ?? since i am not able to find corn meal here (except for the one which is in grocery store)

Please help.

Comments (15)

• patricianat
    20 years ago

There should be plenty of corn meal, mesa, in California. It's what tortillas are made of.

• toodlebug27
    20 years ago

Your fungus is probably powdery mildew. I don't get that on my roses, so I am not sure exactly what to do about it.

Fertilizer-- get alfalfa pellets or alfalfa meal from a feed supply store. Don't get the kind with added sugar-- rabbit food. Cottonseed meal is also good if you can find it. Also plenty of composted manure.

There is a lot of debate as to whether corn meal is effective, but the kind you get at the grocery store is fine. Just make sure it's plain cornmeal and not "cornbread mix."

• nakeia
    20 years ago

Your Roses will thrive if you put some banana peels around the bottom of the rose. Saw this in a gardener's book. I also noticed that coffee ground is very beneficial.

• LizzieA
    20 years ago