Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
serenasyh

has anyone used GreenLight (here are ingredients)

serenasyh
14 years ago

Hi, everyone! I just want to be sure that my "organic pesticide" doesn't kill any bees... I heard that the all-natural Neem oil kills bees and am worried about the oils in my new pesticide... I've been using it for 1-1/2 months now and only spray once a week because there's been soooo much rain... Plus I don't mind sharing a few holes so long as it's not a major infestation. I use GreenLight which lists: Thyme oil, clove oil, sesame oil, water, soybean oil, wintergreen oil, and lecithin. I do have to admit the smell of this stuff is quite overpowering and I try not to be too near it LOL! But I just was curious how many of you have used such a pesticide. I'm a bit worried about killing bees and my roses are starting to open up. I am thinking about taking a Qtip and coating just the outermost petals and the surrounding leaves to discourage the bad bugs and leaving the inner petals untouched. Or is that too weird, anal and cuckoo LOL! If you all think all this pesticide is o.k. then I won't resort to cuckoo behavior... Let me know, thanks!

Comments (9)

• michaelg
    14 years ago

"Whole neem oil" contains an insecticide, azadirachtin. In the US, most processors remove this fraction and sell it separately. The residual neem oil is no more insecticidal than corn oil and is harmless to bees visiting flowers. So you want to avoid spraying "whole neem oil" or "azadirachtin" on pollen that bees might collect. Regular neem oil is OK.

All oils are insecticidal in that they will smother small insects that are completely coated with oil. They have no effect unless directly sprayed on the insect. The product you have contains smelly oils that may repel certain insects but not necessariiy the ones you want to get rid of. However, if you spray it directly on aphids it will smother them. It will not hurt bees.

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago