Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
auntlavender_gw

yellow leaves, very good soil.....

auntlavender
14 years ago

I am very new to rose care. I have many perennials and grow veggies but haven't paid roses any mind until recently. Here are my patients:

1. Climbing rose Alba 'weiss' (according to the garden plan left by the previous owner). Beautiful 7 foot canes full of white blooms 5 years ago---each year major dieback and declining flowering (I mistakenly removed several 'suckers' before being informed by the previous owner that the rose was own root---whoops.) Last year the leaves were very pale green and yellow. I amended the soil with leaf mold, compost, worm castings (all homemade) and Rosetone. This year everything died back to the crown and many new canes are coming up, all with the same sickly appearance as last year. I can't believe that with the rich soil amendments the rose is still waning.

2. Three years ago my neighbor gave me a non-descript red shrub or climber (I still can't tell). Last year it did well, lots of double red blooms. I fed with Rosetone and the same compost/leaf mold/castings recipe described above. This year, yellow leaves like my white climber.

3. 18" away from the white climber is a two year old JP climbing 'America'. Its leaves are a beautiful deep green--the picture of health. How can the same soil get such different results.

Here is a link that might be useful: Several photos of my yellow-leafed roses

Comments (8)

• serenasyh
    14 years ago