Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
donnaroe

Best place to buy ladybugs and best time?

donnaroe
9 years ago

I am pretty new to rose gardening. Where is the best and least expensive place to purchase lady bugs, and when is the optimal time to release them in Ohio? Also, if anyone knows what insects they eat, that would be helpful too. So far, I only have disease on a few of my hybrid teas. No bad insects yet, but I also really don't know what to look for.

Comments (3)

• strawchicago z5
    9 years ago

Hi Donnaroe: Great question, I learned too as I looked up the info., from Buzzle "Lady bugs eat aphids. By the time a ladybug dies, it consumes about 5,000 aphids.

The other bugs that it eats are boll worm, broccoli worm, whitefly, mealybugs, armored scales, pit scales, mites, tomato horn worm, and cabbage moth. They also like to eat eggs of other insects like moths. They enjoy eating pollen and mildew. You may even find some species of ladybugs that eat mushrooms and other types of fungus.

There are over 5000 species of ladybugs on earth ... Its life span is about 3 to 6 weeks. In its short life span, one insect lays up to 1000 eggs. All ladybugs are born black. The larvae take only a week to develop into adults"

Read more at Buzzle: http://www.buzzle.com/articles/what-do-ladybugs-eat.html

See below link for the cheapest place to buy lady bugs from Amazon, 1,500 bugs for $15. It has the instruction on how to release them .. this place has the highest rating. Once you click on the below link, scroll ALL THE WAY down to see the 227 reviews. Ed in Amazon wrote this:

"1. If you release them in hot weather you will not see them EVER. These guys look for cool spots and will leave no matter what.
    2. Sugar water does no good. If there is nothing for them to eat they are out of here.
    3. If you have a aphid problem this is far the way to go.