Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ginger_nh

ID little green worms dessicating rose foliage, please

ginger_nh
21 years ago

Anyone know about little green worms here in Zone 4 that eat rose leaves, practically skeletonizing them? All the leaves on small yellow shrub roses in one of my gardening client's gardens are completely tannish in color, dry, and paper thin--no green left at all. Blooms are not bothered. Looks more like a disease than insect damage, but I did find little light green worms, about 1/4-1/2" long. No mention of this worm in my organic rose gardening book.

Ginger

Comments (53)

• Violetrose
    21 years ago

I've seen little birds eat them. I keep an eye out for them and try to squish them before they do a lot of damage, but it's nice to know the birds help out too.

• gata
    21 years ago

I've been growing roses for only about 4 years, choosing the relatively carefree old rose varieties hardy here in NH. This is the first year the sawfly larvae have been really bad. I read in "Hardy Roses" that their infestations fluctuate from year to year. I wish I had noticed them sooner, but I have been squishing them. Also, they seem to prefer some varieties more than others.

• koimiss
    21 years ago

I had little green worms all over my Hibiscus and Hollyhocks this year. Totally ate the leaves. Just leaving the skeleton. Would that be the same thing? I killed them as soon as I found them. But it was a while before I figured out what was wrong with them. They were so small and blended right in! Londa

• Barb_OH
    21 years ago

I hope that if y'all see a Wasp, you don't kill it.
    Wasps have kept patrol and plucked every larvae off my Roses all year so far.
    It's wonderfull to see a Wasp hover under each leaf group in succession every time I'm out there.
    I'll have the occasional hole in a leaf, but no hint who did it, other than the steady parade of Wasps loking for more.

• cbarkston
    21 years ago