Return to the Organic Rose Growing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What cuts through buds and makes a black mess?

Posted by westy1941 z5 NO IL (cdwestg@att.net) on
Sun, Jun 21, 09 at 23:17

I have only ONE rose left and that's a climbing David Austin - I think it's 'Eden' - pale peach edges and even paler inside. I've never had a problem until this week - something cut a blackish colored swath through the buds and it almost opened completely up - like I could take a 'lid' off the bud. There's nothing inside and I see no bugs or worms. Any ideas? I love this rose and need to know what I can use on it that isn't poison.

Westy

Follow-Up Postings:

o
oops I hope you haven't given up on us...

Hey, Westy, I'm sorry that no one yet has answered your post... I'm a rose newbie and was hoping the organic experts would respond. But it's been almost a month, so I thought I'd try my 1/2 a penny's worth of guessing... I first learned of the term bullheading on the other rose forum...

here is the link:

bullhead on roses

Does this look similar to the condition you have?

o
RE: What cuts through buds and makes a black mess?

Thanks for keeping track of the post progress, serenasyh! And thank you for the link. I read it in awe! I don't, however, think it's bullhead. I think it's either the rainy weather or thrips, although I couldn't see the critters. I gave up and sprayed with an inorganic product and it KILLED me - but I put barriers up all around it and it was a still day. It's a Bayer pest product. I used to have 50 roses - now I have one. Chicago is not rose land.

Westy

o