Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amyjean_gw

Thorny Fertilizer Question - Can anyone help?

amyjean
15 years ago

I am new to both roses and organic gardening. My year-old roses are about 2 1/2 ft. high by about as wide. I wish to apply some "Neptunes Harvest Fish/Seaweed" fertilizer, which states it is a "2-3-1" fertilizer. The instructions say to use 1/8 cup per gallon of water, but HOW MUCH OF THIS MIXTURE DO I FEED EACH ROSE? I intend to use it as a supplement to another, complete, organic rose fertilizer by "Peace of Mind" which is a 4-4-5 fertilizer. So, here are my questions:

1. Should I use these in tandem, and again, if so, how much of the above liquid fertilizer to use per bush?

2. In understanding the n-p-k ratio, why do many rose formulas use high nitrogen versus high potash? It's usually listed as only slightly higher or the same. I understand that the potash increases bloom production, so why so much nitrogen to potash?

3. In general, when comparing fertilizers, why are some listed as such low numbers, such as the above, versus some that are in the double digits, such as 10 or above. Would you use proportionately more of the ones with lower numbers?

I am very sorry to list a three-pronged question here, but they all seem to be entwined in my mind. I am confused to say the least, and can't seem to find the answers by "googling". Thank you to anyone in advance who will tackle this! Amy

Comments (6)

• Kimmsr
    15 years ago

1. How many gallons of water are you going to give each of your shrubs?
    2. A balanced nutrient load is more beneficial than one that is higher in one nutrient than another. What your roses need can only be determined by a good reliable soil test. What is the nutrient load in your soil? What is the humus level in your soil?