Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andalee

Cane borers . . . I think . . . .

andalee
18 years ago

I'm very new to growing roses--I've got five bushes currently in containers (Redoute, Pat Austin, Glamis Castle, Gruss an Aachen and a Tiffany). All but the Tiffany I've had since early last year, and have done pretty well without much intervention on my part. We moved just about a month ago from a forested hillside, with a thriving population of beneficial insects, to a valley subdivision and an acre lot with a yard full of nothing but weeds. It's a lot warmer here, and more windy. The weeds have been tilled (they sprayed with 2-4D before tilling them under), and now we've got an acre of bare dirt. I also succumbed to the advice of the lady that owns the greenhouse where we get a lot of our plants, and bought some 20-20-20 fertilizer and have been using it in mild doses on a fairly regular basis for a couple of weeks. (She uses it six days out of seven in her operation!) Anyway, the plants took off, but I've been seeing a lot more trouble with the roses, too.

One of them (it's either the Glamis Castle or Gruss an Aachen--I forgot to check the tag, and neither one has bloomed much yet) has set a lot of buds, but most of them are stunted and not swelling before they try to open. The outer petals are edged in crispy dark brown, and most of the tips of the buds have tiny holes in them. When they actually try to bloom, they're pretty pathetic. The petals aren't full-sized, and they're small, and withered and dry at the edges instead of soft and round.