Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
belcantocanto

I'm a newbie - help / advice please!

belcantocanto
14 years ago

Hello,

I am new to gardening and this fall planted 4 knockout rose bushes (backyard) as a hedge and some flower carpet roses (front yard). They both get great sun, however because of the humid weather and rain, they have developed pretty bad black spot and some brown and curling leaves. I've lost a lot of leaves.

I tried a baking soda/dr. bronners, neem oil spray but that really didn't help much. I just don't know what to do to help these roses.

Will they bounce back by themselves once the weather is less humid? Will leaves grow back? I've started feeding them once a month with Rose Tone (I think Sept will be their last feeding until spring)

What can I do to cure them and bring them back? They were looking so lovely. Your advice is MOST appreciated. Thank you!

--Jen

Comments (7)

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago

What is the soil these roses are planted in like? the brown, curling leaves can be an indication the plants are unable to move sufficient moisture and if your soil is too wet that can happen, just as it can happen in a too dry soil.

• wesley_butterflies
    14 years ago

Welcome :

Sept. ends fertilizing
    Neem is more pesticide it does have fungus born disease control features to some effectivness under light conditions
    Backing soda dish soap mix what happens when you apply it is it elevates the PH on the leaves and midlews and fungus find an uncoftable home to grow on but it doesnt last very long at keeping a leaf PH changing

Compliments to you on your rose choises and the home work you already did too
    carpet rose is about as easy growing as they get it will boast a very dencly packed foilage and is very winter hardy as well disease tollerant Yes it will grow new leaves its a real hardy rose I have two and I did just two days ago end of season leaf cleaned em it took 45 minutes on 2 different days ( they get bigger than that too )