Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lesfleursjolies

Please share your experiences with active aereated compost teas

KarenPA_6b
9 years ago

Hi everyone! I am fairly new at growing roses. I have found that I am constantly facing with all kinds of pests and diseases. I am trying to abstain from using chemicals and am looking for ways to deal with these probems naturally. I have read on the web that active aereated compost teas (aact) help plants to stave off diseases and kill pest larvaes in the soil due to the high beneficial bacteria and fungi in the teas. Does anyone use the aact for this purpose? Can you share your experience how the aact works for your roses? Thank you.

Comments (21)

• jim1961 / Central Pennsylvania / Zone 6
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I spread homemade compost under and around our roses but that's all I have ever done with compost.

Our main insect problem here is rose slugs (sawfly larvae) in which I tried planting marigold flowers around our roses this year and the rose slug damage is very little this year. So next year I'll try the marigolds again...
    Safers Insecticide soap would be the mildest application that works for rose slugs if needed...

As for disease's such as Blackspot and Powdery Mildew in my opinion it is best to plant roses that are more resistant to those diseases if you want a no spray garden with little fuss..

Wish I could be more help... All I can say is try making some aereated compost tea and see how it does for you...

This post was edited by jim1961 on Thu, Sep 25, 14 at 22:21

• jean001a
    9 years ago

The best tactic against the disease roses might get is to select roses that tolerate the various diseases. (Total resistance to diseases is rare to non-existent.)

Aerated compost tea didn't do a thing in my garden.

• strawchicago z5
    9 years ago