Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barb_roselover_in

What kind of vitamins can I give?

barb_roselover_in
14 years ago

The bugs have had a wonderful time with my roses in the last few weeks with the result that I have no leaves. I also have noticed a lot of white butterflies. Are the white ones destructful? Anyway, I know you must have leaves for a rose to go through winter healthy. What kind of vitamins do these guys need? I know that they also have fallen prey to blackspot. I am not a sprayer although I am going to try the alcohol and water stuff. Thanks for any advice. Barb

Comments (2)

• serenasyh
    14 years ago

Barbara, from painful experience with rampant blackspot I have found that the saving grace for me is my Gardenville Sea Tea. I have had Blackspot to the wazoo and the incessant rain is not at all helping! But my roses keep fighting! I've got very thick strong canes and each leaf that falls off bunches! of new ones quickly grow to take their place. But I'm very new to roses and am taking the big risk of continuing to feed my severely defoliated roses through the entire fall period until the temperature starts to really get chilly-- maybe as late as mid-October? We usually don't get our first frost until the last day of October. I am borderline zone 5/6. There is another raging debate right now whether to deadhead, whether or not to fertilize through the fall. Just a few like myself fertilize through the fall. Their roses have done fine. I will have to wait and see what happens to mine since this is my first year gardening and! growing roses. I decided to go the fertilizing route also! because my lawn company always applies winter fertilization for the grass the last week of October. I sort of did the common sense guessing is that roses love fertilization no matter what; but that they are smart enough to know that once that temperature gets really cold and the sun starts to fade that it's time to slow down and get ready for sleeeeping. It's like trees.