Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lecorbeau

yellow leaves with spots

K
19 years ago

I am new to growing roses and only have two. One is not doing very well. The second, a red climber, was doing just fine until this week when the lower leaves started turning yellow and having black spots on them. Does anyone know why it's doing this?

Also, when should I prune it? Planted it this spring.

Kate

Comments (8)

• _sophiewheeler
    19 years ago

Probably black spot, a common affliction of roses in the South. It could also just be the old age of the leaf, as we're going into autumn and leaves have a finite life span, but I'd bet on fungus. Most modern roses require spraying to retain their leaves and stay spot free in the South.

• catfishred2006
    19 years ago

I agree, its most likely black spot. A spraying of baking soda and soap and water in a spray bottle. I just add a pinch of baking soda and a tad of soap, seems works good., hopefully some one else does. Before you start spraying you need to removed all infected leafs ect. Try not to leave any on the ground

this is from http://www.koolpages.com/hokuspokus/garden/roseguide.html#BLACK%20SPOT

"Prevention is the key here:
    inspect roses weekly for the first signs. Treat small outbreaks quickly by removing infected leaves and throwing them away. Pick dead infected leaves off the ground as soon as they fall because the fungal spores will settle in the soil and will survive the winter there. Plant roses where air circulation is good around each plant and around the bed as this is effective in limiting black spot infection watering roses from above can spread the black spot fungus  water the plants at their roots early in the day. Use soaker hoses or a hose wand that prevents splashing and softens the water stream.

If an infection has set in, spray with fungicidal soap.

This safe remedy is Baking soda ( sodium bicarbonate )
    1 teaspoon Baking soda
    Ivory soap ( just a pinch )
    2 quarts of water