Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
summer99_gw

Abraham darby...

summer99
19 years ago

I am new to roses, mainly because when I thought of roses, I only saw the hideous, leggy BS defoliated HTs. I have now seen the light and have fallen in love (but still can't stand most HTs, at least in humid SC). Ok, on to my question. I was at Home Depot and fell in love with Abraham Darby and brought it home, it was just SO beautiful. I have since learned that Austins may not be the best choice for SCs heat and humidty. Do you guys thing I can do well with this rose here? I am trying to be as organic as possible. Can I get by with Safer fungicide occasionally and maybe Lime Sulfur in the winter...or am I destined to see this rose turn into a defoliated mess? I don't demand perfection and can handle some BS, but not extreme leaf loss. Any opinions?

Comments (13)

• _sophiewheeler
    19 years ago

Take it back unless you want leaflessness or to spray with real fungicides. Safer ain't gonna cut it on any roses in the South. The most effective organic fungicide (40% in my personal trial) is sulpher. Contrast that with propiconazole at 95%. Please do research all of your spray options if you love this rose though, because many modern choices are not as toxic as you may think they are, and require much less spraying.

Research tea roses (NOT hybrid teas) noisettes, chinas, polyanthas, and hybrid musks if you want a profusion of healthy scented roses that are far more disease resistant than either the hybrid teas or Austins. You can grow no spray roses in the SOuth, but they won't be many modern roses included in the bunch.

• michaelg
    19 years ago

I grow Abe with regular use of sulfur spray (Safer is one brand). Usually he is OK, with just a moderate amount of blackspot, but this month he has lost a lot of leaves. (It has been a particularly bad year for blackspot here.) I think you would need to use the Safer product nearly every week to keep him looking halfway decent.