Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melian1212

Will BS kill my roses?

melian1212
11 years ago

I'm pretty new to gardening and have decided to go organic from the start...I have had some roses for 3 years and this year I have not sprayed for BS or others... There is an outbreak right now and I don't know what to do...Will I be able not to spray? Or will I loose the plant in the end? Thats my only fear, that if a don�t do anything the plant will eventually die... I don�t mind loosing a couple or replacing them if they are not performing that well but...not all of them...Do plants resist continuous fungal attacks? I'm hoping that the higher temperatures will stop it before they are defolieted but I don't know if I'm right...

I would appreciatte your opinion! I have learnt a lot reading the forum and would love to continue doing so!

Melian

Comments (10)

• Krista_5NY
    11 years ago

In my experience blackspot does not hurt roses. The roses defoliate in my no-spray garden setting, however they grow well and bloom well. Blackspot does not diminish vigor or hardiness.

I've found that organic fertilizers build the soil to create an environment where roses thrive, even with blackspot present in the garden.

• melian1212
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you so much for your answer Krista! You give me hope! Right now my Graham Thomas is practicaly defolieted and almost all the roses have blackspot... So I suppose that what I should do is to hide them among other plants so I can enjoy the flowers and not see the leafless bushes... I think thats what I will do!

Thanks again

Melian

• RpR_
    11 years ago

Try using Serenade it is an organic treatment that has worked well for me.
    I dose heavily, far beyond printed doses.

Some roses are tough and will not die but others will die as the black-spot is as hard on some roses as some diseases are on people.

If you let it go uncontrolled you wil severly limit your choice of roses in the future.