Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tinus_gw

cuttings turning yellow!! HELP please

tinus
17 years ago

Hello everyone, untill now my cuttings of a rambler where looking fine and making leaves, in plastic bottles without tops, some have holes in the bottom , some don't.

Since three days their leaves are turning yellow starting at the bottom - I think I should poke holes in All bottoms - but the ones who have them are turning yellow also - What can this be? I've noticed they are rooting - I don't want to loose them! I don't use any products (Hormones - fungicides)- but if it will save these roses I might do so- but I'm not sure about what to do/what to buy?

I'm thinking of putting in dishwashliquid - bananapeels ...Ive kept an eye on them during the weekend..they are ALL turning yellow!!! Please HELP !

Comments (7)

• irish_rose_grower
    17 years ago

tinus - I'm no pro yet :-) But sometimes the leaves will fall off and new ones will grow in their place. You can still have roots forming with yellow leaves. I would remove the dead, yellow leaves. And I would put drain holes in. I put drain holes in everything I propagte to insure good drainage. Many things will rot without drainage.

Also, if you could put them under grow lights (or a sunny south window) with bottom heat that would help. How long has it been since you stuck them?

• tinus
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks, irish.....
    I stuck them a little before Xmas -
    They 've been in the kitchen, but I moved them to the bathroom - I put them back in the kitchen (maybe the bathroom is to cold at night or to humid) The leaves are hanging down - yellow, but not dry...

• michelle_co
    17 years ago

If they have roots and new leaves, have you tried feeding them a verrrry dilute fertilizer? Maybe they are just needing nutrients, and absorbing some leaves to get them?

I agree with Maureen about drain holes. Roses seem much happier with great drainage.

Cheers,
    Michelle

• irish_rose_grower